Ecoinformatics site parent site of Partnership for Biodiversity Informatics site parent site of REAP - Home




Requirements Workshop 2007

Overview of meeting:

This workshop will involve domain scientists and technologists meeting together to clarify the specific technical needs and requirements of two initial Scientific Use Cases for the REAP Project: one involving the access to and modeling of Sea Surface Temperature Data; and the other involving the monitoring and analysis of real-time land-based environmental sensors over a broad spatiotemporal range. Both Use Cases were chosen to not only address some challenging areas regarding access to and integration of important environmental data, but also to incorporate these into scientific workflows in order to facilitate documentation, replication, and sharing of executable analysis and models.

Oceanographic Use Case for Sea Surface Temperature (SST)

Terrestrial Use Case Investigating Plant-Pathogen Interactions


Venue: NCEAS, UC Santa Barbara(directions and contact info)
Dates: July 24-26, 2007


NCEAS has reserved a block of rooms in a small hotel, the Eagle Inn, which is one mile from the Center and two blocks to the beach.

Eagle Inn
232 Natoma Avenue
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Tel.: (805) 965-3586
Fax: (805) 966-1218

Deadline to make hotel reservations: Wednesday, June 20, 2007.


Plan to arrive the evening before your meeting starts and depart the morning after your meeting ends.

Pre-meeting assignment


Name Affiliation Email
Ilkay Altintas SDSC altintas at
Derik Barseghian NCEAS barseghian at
Cherie Briggs UCB cbriggs at
Christian Buckingham URI c.buckingham at
Peter Cornillon OPeNDAP, URI pcornillon at
Ellen Damschen NCEAS damschen at
Shenfu Dong NOAA Shenfu.Dong at
James Gallagher OPeNDAP jgallagher at
Eric Graham UCLA egraham at
Stan Harpole UCI wharpole at
Dan Higgins NCEAS higgins at
Parviez Hosseini Princeton hosseini at
Huai Min Zhang NOAA huai-min.Zhang at
Matt Jones NCEAS jones at
Duncan Menge Princeton dmenge at
Nathan Potter OPeNDAP ndp at
Dave Roberts UM droberts at
Carlos Rueda UC Davis carueda at
Mark Schildhauer NCEAS schild at
Eric Seabloom OSU seabloom at
Andy Thomas Maine thomas at
Jianting Zhang UC Davis jianting at


Monday, July 23, 2007

  • Afternoon/evening arrivals

Tuesday, July 24, 2007

  • 8:00 am: Coffee
  • 8:30 am - 9:15 am: REAP and Kepler Overview (Matthew Jones, NCEAS)
  • 9:15 am - 9:35 am: Terrestrial Ecology Use Case Investigating Plant-Pathogen Interactions: Short Overview (Eric Seabloom, OSU)
  • 9:35 am - 9:55 am: Terrestrial Use Case Discussion
  • 9:55 am - 10:15 am: Oceanographic Use Case for Sea Surface Temperature (SST): Short Overview (Peter Cornillon, OPeNDAP & URI)
  • 10:15 am - 10:35 am: Oceanographic Use Case Discussion
  • 10:35 am - 10:55 am: Coffee Break
  • 10:55 am - 11:25 am: Background and Examples on Scientific Workflows in Kepler (Ilkay Altintas, SDSC)
  • 11:25 am - 11:45 am: Workflows in Kepler Discussion
  • 11:45 am: Lunch
  • 1:00 pm - 1:15 pm: Discussion on goals for the rest of the workshop and break out groups (Moderator: Mark Schildhauer, NCEAS)
  • 1:15 pm - 2:15 pm: Break out into Use Case groups, general description of science problem, list of related problems
    • Group #1: Terrestrial (Moderator: Eric Seabloom, OSU)
    • Group #2: Oceanographic (Moderator: Peter Cornillon, OPeNDAP & URI)
  • 2:15 pm - 2:45 pm: Break
  • 2:45 pm - 4:00 pm: Broken out Use Case groups: draw high-level conceptual view of workflow
  • 4:00 pm - 4:20 pm: Break
  • 4:20 pm - 5:00 pm: Broken out Use Case groups: define usecases

  • 7:00 pm: Possible and optional Dinner.

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

  • 8:00 am: Coffee
  • 8:30 am - 10:00 am: Broken out Use Case groups: define usecases and formal requirements
  • 10:00 am - 10:20 am: Coffee Break
  • 10:20 am - 11:00 am: Broken out Use Case groups: define usecases and formal requirements
  • 11:00 am - 11:45 am: Report back on usecases
  • 11:45 am: Lunch
  • 1:00 pm - 1:20 pm: Goals for workflow development (Matthew Jones, NCEAS)
  • 1:20 pm - 5:00 pm: Broken out Use Case groups: workflow development

Thursday, July 26, 2007

  • 8:00 am: Coffee
  • 8:30 am - 10:20 am: Broken out Use Case groups: workflow development
  • 10:20 am - 10:40 am: Coffee Break
  • 10:40 am - 12:30 pm: Present workflows. Discussion.
  • 12:30 pm: Adjourn

Meeting Results

Terrestrial usecases
Oceanographic usecases


Go to top   Edit this page   More info...   Attach file...
This page last changed on 24-Apr-2008 11:00:39 PDT by uid=barseghian,o=NCEAS.